High Price Record Store Day Releases - How Much is too much?


We need your help!  Record Store Day is a day when collectors put their hands in their pockets and are happy to pay more for a Record Store Day record because it has been pressed in very small quantities and is rare and collectable.  But the question is - when does the price tag outweigh the record's desirabiliy?  In other words HOW MUCH IS TOO MUCH?

There are several Record Store Day releases that we think you are going to like BUT they have big price tags.  We need you to tell us whether or not the price tags on these records will put you off buying them or if you are happy to pay extra and treat yourself to a future heirloom. 

Ordering the right Record Store Day stock isn't easy and getting it wrong can have serious consequences -  we need to find a way to both avoid disappointing customers who have queued for hours to buy their must-have record and being left with expensive stock which noone wants.  Please help us make the right decisions!

Here are some  records we URGENTLY need your feedback on:


Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody Original Sound Track Picture Disc (2LP)  - Approx Price £60

(UK Release 1500 copies)

Celebrating the success of ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’, this limited edition 2LP picture disc set includes original Queen and Smile recordings from the soundtrack of the movie.  Created exclusively for RSD 2019, the package also includes the never before released set from Live Aid.


Aretha Franklin Box Set - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967 (5 x 7" Singles Box Set) - Approx Price £80

(UK Release 300 copies)

Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967 Vinyl Boxset set , is a 7’’ Singles Box featuring Aretha's 5 x 7" singles from 1967.


  • Disc 1 - Side A I NEVER LOVED A MAN (The Way I Love You) 2:47 / Side B DO RIGHT WOMAN – DO RIGHT MAN 3:15
  • Disc 2 - Side A RESPECT 2:26 / Side B DR. FEELGOOD 3:18
  • Disc 3 - Side A BABY I LOVE YOU 2:40 / Side B GOING DOWN SLOW 4:32
  • Disc 4 - Side A A NATURAL WOMAN (YOU MAKE ME FEEL LIKE) 2:42 / Side B BABY, BABY, BABY 2:48
  • Disc 5 - Side A CHAIN OF FOOLS 2:45 / Side B PROVE IT 2:58


Eric Clapton - One More Car, One More Rider (3LP Clear Vinyl) - Approx Price £60

(UK Release 500 copies)

One More Car, One More Rider is the eighth live album by Eric Clapton, released on 5 November 2002 on Duck / Reprise Records. It is also the third double live album. The album contains songs performed during Clapton's 2001 world tour. The recordings on this album are from two nights at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, 18 & 19 August 2001. Limited 3 x 140g 12" clear vinyl album for RSD 2019.

South Park Soundtrack (Various Artists) - Music From And Inspiared By The Motion Picture South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut (Double Colour Vinyl Deluxe Edition - with Book, die cut sleeves and pop uP) - Approx Price £200

(UK Release 200 copies)

Elaborate deluxe edition double colour vinyl package, featuring; A lithograph front cover, pop up image and a hardback book featuring: lyrics from the 10 Southpark songs all with corresponding images from the film.  

The Double colour vinyl package will hold the colour vinyl in die cut shapes - half of the stock will feature characters Cartman (Red LP) and Kyle (Green LP) and half will feature Kenny (Orange LP) and Stan (Blue LP). 

The package is being designed by the original South Park designers in conjunction with creators Matt and Trey.  The package will also contain 10 x “golden tickets” - 10 random copies will be complemented with a be signed print from creators Matt and Trey.


Chas and Dave (7" Picture Disc)  - Approx Price £28

(UK Release 200 copies)

Exclusively for Record Store Day 2019.  Demon Records revisits Chas & Dave’s classic ode to the Kent seaside town of Margate.

This 7” shaped picture disc revisits the classic postcard design of the 1982 single and expands on the original tracklist with the additions of ‘That’s What I Like’, and the previously unreleased Only Fools & Horses Jolly Boys’ Outing version of Margate.

Previously only heard as the end credits to the Classic Only Fools & Horses episode ‘The Jolly Boys’ Outing’ and features vocal appearances from Del Boy & Rodney.